University awards honor several faculty and staff from the College of Human Sciences

Faculty News Honors and Awards News
Pictured: 2021 University award recipients, Interdisciplinary Team Research Award (Christopher Gannon/Iowa State University)

Iowa State University’s annual awards’ ceremony honored more than 70 faculty and staff on Monday, Oct. 25. Among the winners were several faculty and staff from the College of Human Sciences.

International Service Award Recipient: Ann Marie Fiore, University Professor of apparel, events and hospitality

This award recognizes a faculty member for outstanding international service in teaching, research or administration within the United States or abroad.

Early Achievement in Departmental Leadership Recipient: Li-Shan Chou, chair of kinesiology

This award recognizes the exceptional impact of a department chair or school director within the first three years of their leadership role.

Interdisciplinary Team Research Award

Recipients: Data Sciences for the Public Good (Todd Abraham, assistant director of data and analytics, Iowa Integrated Data System; Cassandra Dorius, associate professor of human development and family studies; Shawn Dorius, associate professor of sociology; Heike Hofmann, professor of statistics; Jim Reecy, associate vice president for research; Christopher Seeger, professor of landscape architecture; and Adisak Sukul, associate teaching professor of computer science)

This award recognizes an interdisciplinary team of two or more faculty researchers with outstanding achievements who have made a significant contribution to the university’s research and scholarship mission through successful interdisciplinary collaborations.

R.K. Bliss Extension Award Recipient: Barbara Woods, special projects manager, Human Sciences extension and outreach

Named for the director of Extension from 1912 to 1946, the award recognizes outstanding achievement of an extension staff member for developing an overall or continuing extension education program.

For a complete list of all honorees, click here. To watch a recording of the ceremony, click here.