2024 Pease Family Scholar

Dr. Stuart Phillips is a Distinguished University Professor in the Department of Kinesiology and a member of the School of Medicine at McMaster University in Canada. He is a Tier 1 Canada Research Chair in Skeletal Muscle Health. Dr. Phillips’ work centers on the interaction of exercise/physical activity, aging, and nutrition in skeletal muscle and body composition. Dr. Phillips is a fellow of the American College of Sports Medicine (ACSM) and the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences (CAHS). He has 488 research publications, and his Web of Science h-index is 96 (Google Scholar h-index 136). He has been in the top 1% of cross-field (nutrition and physiology) highly-cited scholars globally for six straight years 2018-2023.

Please join us on Thursday, April 4, 2024 at 7:00 p.m. in 1148 Gerdin where Dr. Phillips will present “Lifting for the Health of It: Beyond Chalk Dust and Weight” – https://www.lectures.iastate.edu/lectures/lifting-health-it-beyond-chalk-dust-and-weight-belts


The Pease Family Scholar endowment was established by Dean A. and Sally C. Pease in 1991. Dean Pease was a long-time faculty member in the department and chaired what was then the Department of Health and Human Performance (now Kinesiology) from 1987 until 1990. Prior to his untimely death in 1994, Dean and Sally established an endowment in memory of Dean’s parents, Harvey and Bomell Pease. This endowment supports three programs that benefit students and faculty at Iowa State University in perpetuity.

The greatest proportion of the Pease gift was used to create a “scholar-in-residence fund” for the department. The annual earnings from this fund allows the department to bring a leading scholar in kinesiology to campus each year for extensive interactions with faculty, graduate students, and undergraduate students. The Pease Family Scholar Lecture is the featured event during the scholar’s visit and is one of the major highlights in the Department of Kinesiology each academic year.

Cosponsored By:

  • Kinesiology
  • Pease Family Scholar-in-Residence and Scholarship
  • Committee on Lectures (funded by Student Government)